45th International Vienna Motor Symposium

The International Vienna Motor Symposium

takes place annually and is one of the worldwide leading events of this kind.
At the International Vienna Motor Symposium, more than 1,000 decision-makers from the most important enterprises of the worldwide automotive engineering industry meet together. The three-day programme at the Hofburg Conference Centre Vienna, offers a variety of ground-breaking lectures and allows sufficient time for exchange of opinions and networking.
This top-level lecture programme is accompanied by an exhibition at which leading automotive and component companies present latest technologies and developments.

The 46th International Vienna Motor Symposium will take place from 14 to 16 May 2025.

Motor Symposium 2024 - Replacing 30 million barrels of oil per day

[Translate to English:] Symposium_2024

The 45th International Vienna Motor Symposium came to the following conclusion: There is no single solution to CO2-neutral mobility; the Industry will have to explore multiple pathways in order to achieve the goal. "In the case of vehicles, however, the quickest and most effective approach will vary according to utility group.
Whatever the approach, the undisputed fact is that alternatives will be needed for some 30 million oil barrels used per day worldwide for transportation.

read more >>>, opens new window

Motor Symposium 2024 as "Virtual Event"

Vienna Motor Symposium 2024

We are pleased about the interest and the very high number of registrations for this year's 45th International Vienna Motor Symposium. Due to high demand, the event will be offered again as a "Virtual Event".
Access to the "Virtual Event" will be possible from 2 May 2024.

read more >>>

"Powertrains of the Future" is the motto of the plenary closing session

[Translate to English:] Symposium 2024

While the plenary opening session of the 45th International Vienna Motor Symposium primarily deals with the topic of renewable energy supply, the plenary closing session has the motto “New solutions for powertrains of the future”.

The transformation process not only affects the drive systems, but also the companies themselves. Global engineering companies, such as AVL List GmbH from Graz, must strategically realign themselves. Prof. Helmut List will report on this transformation process.

The agricultural and construction machinery sector is also facing severe changes. CNH Industrial is one of the major global companies in this area. Friedrich Eichler from CNH Industrial, will report on current and future tailor-made solutions for powertrain, ecosystem, and precision technologies. A practical example, a Steyr tractor with fuel cell drive, will also be on display in the exhibition. This research and funding project from the Austrian government's climate and energy fund KLIEN was realized in collaboration with several partners by the Institute of Powertrains and Automotive Technology, TU Vienna.

The Volkswagen Group is one of the world's leading manufacturers of automobiles and commercial vehicles. Michael Steiner from Volkswagen AG will present the transformation of a company with a wide range of brands and business areas into a new age of mobility to the participants of the International Vienna Motor Symposium.

Autonomous driving: Safety is non-negotiable

[Translate to English:] Autonomous Driving

Next to the major topics of energy scarcity and emission-free powertrains, autonomous driving is an important pillar in the debate on future mobility. On this year's 45th anniversary, the International Vienna Motor Symposium taking place from April 24th to 26th will focus on autonomous vehicles in collaboration with "The Autonomous", founded by TTTech Auto in 2019, in an effort to identify the remaining challenges to getting these on the road safely.

"The latest events and accidents demonstrate that individual approaches in autonomous driving are not fully developed yet. There is, however, an urgent need to address future-proof mobility concepts with innovations and useful projects", says Bernhard Geringer, Chairman of the Austrian Society of Automotive Engineers (ÖVK) and organiser of the International Vienna Motor Symposium. "The purpose of the symposium is not just to bring the urgent energy debate and the impact of energy sources on future powertrains to the limelight, but to also provide room for autonomous driving. Together with the experts of TTTech Auto and The Autonomous, we intend to discuss the current challenges and latest technologies with our expert audience.
Foto: © Olivier Le Moal – stock.adobe.com

read more >>>

"Energy First" ” is this year´s motto of the opening plenary session

Energy Transition

Energy First” is this year´s motto of the opening plenary session at the 45th International Vienna Motor Symposium.

The energy transition to a complete defossilization requires enormous efforts; today only 15% of energy consumption worldwide comes from renewable sources, most of the rest is from fossil sources - oil, coal, and natural gas, 5% comes from nuclear energy and is therefore at least without CO2.
The generation of all required primary energy from renewable sources in Europe is an illusion, which means that energy imports will still be necessary in the future. In the world's energy-rich zones, the yield of renewable energy per given area is around three times that of good locations in Europe. To get this energy to consumer markets, it will be necessary to convert it into chemical energy and thus make it transportable. What possibilities exist will be shown by well-known experts in numerous lectures at the Vienna Motor Symposium.

A range of technologies are available to convert the energy into propulsion energy for different vehicle classes, from hydrogen or methanol combustion in engines to fuel cells and conversion back into electricity and its use in battery-electric vehicles.

Rebecca Yates from BP and Karl Rose, global energy expert, will present paths to climate neutrality and their impact on mobility and fuels of the future. Ruiping Wang and Arnd Franz, from the leading suppliers Aurobay and MAHLE, will discuss the strategic implementation of the powertrain transition in their companies.

Foto Energiewende: © Coloures-Pic – stock.adobe.com

45th International Vienna Motor Symposium: Does Hydrogen win the Race?

[Translate to English:] Vienna Motor Symposium

In the context of a press conference, Bernhard Geringer, president of the Austrian Society of Automotive Engineers (ÖVK) and organizer of the symposium, offered a foretaste of the highlights of the 45th International Vienna Motor Symposium. Uwe Dieter Grebe, Executive Vice President at AVL List GmbH, Graz, and Arnd Franz, CEO of the MAHLE Group, Stuttgart, explained how important technology competition is for the entire industry and what role hydrogen will play in the mobility network.

For Uwe Grebe, “electric drives will play a significant part in the mobility system in the future. Nevertheless, we must remain technology-neutral, as there are different regulatory requirements around the world. A sustainable energy economy requires the storage and transport of large amounts of energy. This can only happen over long distances with the help of molecules – this means chemical storage. We have to think about the correct allocation of energy sources to all primary energy users.”

Hydrogen is part of the future, adds Bernhard Geringer. It allows emission-free mobility, for example in combination with fuel cells, but is also an interesting storage device for green electricity that can be transported over long distances: “Whether on the Le Mans race track or in heavy commercial vehicles, many areas of application for this alternative fuel are currently being tested.”

“We need competition between ideas and technologies,” emphasizes Arnd Franz. “In addition to electromobility, sustainable fuels are becoming an important energy source for the transport sector. That's why we have to continue to advance the development of the associated infrastructure and drive systems." Franz points to the importance of the International Vienna Motor Symposium, which has been a meeting place for board members and executives from all over the world as well as leading research institutions for 45 years. Geringer says: “Green electricity competes against green hydrogen and synthetic fuels from renewable energy. The race is wide open and it is becoming increasingly clear that there will not be single solution.”

For the first time, the focus is on autonomous driving
But it's not just the drive and energy supply that will move the experts at the symposium, but also autonomous driving, says Geringer. He was able to win the internationally renowned company TTTech Auto GmbH, Vienna, as a new partner of the symposium and known for its “The Autonomous” event in Vienna. Stefan Poledna, Head of Technology at TTTech Auto GmbH, will discuss the opportunities and challenges of autonomous driving with well-known experts for the first time this year as part of a panel discussion during the symposium.

to the press photos >>>

The Vienna Motor Symposium 2024 - Global mobility elite meets in Vienna

In 2024, the main theme of the International Vienna Motor Symposium will be a.o. greenhouse gas neutrality: The issues discussed will range from e-fuels and green electricity for electric vehicles to the advantages of the hydrogen combustion engine as an emission-free powertrain.
More than 80 high-ranking experts from the world of science and the automobile industry and its suppliers are expected at the event in the Vienna Hofburg palace from 24 to 26 April 2024, where they will present a wide range of technological and strategic innovations in powertrain systems to the more than 1,000 expected participants from over
25 countries.
Registration for the 2024 Motor Symposium will begin on January 10. The complete programme of the 45th International Vienna Motor Symposium (Technical Programme and Social Programme) can be found here.

Conference papers 2024

3 Volumes

The 45th International Vienna Motor Symposium took place from 24-26 April 2024. The conference papers for this event can be ordered from the Austrian Society of Automotive Engineers, and will be dispatched after the event in May 2024.
All lectures are presented on approx. 1600 pages in 3 volumes including additional booklets.
The lecture documents can be ordered as a print version or as a USB flash drive. Both versions contain a download link with the complete lectures.

Media Feedback

Comments of the international media

Conference Reports

Offprints of the Austrian Society of Automotive Engineers (ÖVK) about previous symposia

Announcement

46th International Vienna Motor Symposium: 14 - 16 Mai 2025

47th International Vienna Motor Symposium: 22 - 24 April 2026

Mediadatabase

Besucher im Anzug sitzen im Saal mit leuchtenden Kronleuchtern
Menschengruppen vor der Hofburg, vor der Fahnen des Motorensymposiums stehen

45. Internationales Wiener Motorensymposium vom 24. bis 26. April 2024

Das Internationale Wiener Motorensymposium

veranstaltet und organisiert vom Österreichischen Verein für Kraftfahrzeugtechnik, ist eine der weltweit führenden Veranstaltungen dieser Art. Am Wiener Motorensymposium versammeln sich weit mehr als 1000 Entscheidungsträger der bedeutendsten Unternehmen der weltweiten Automobilbranche. Das dreitägige Programm im Kongresszentrum Hofburg Wien bietet eine Vielzahl von wegweisenden Vorträgen und bietet ausreichend Zeit zum Meinungsaustausch und zur Vernetzung.
Ergänzt wird dieses hochkarätige Vortragsprogramm durch eine begleitende Fachausstellung, auf der die führenden Automobil- und Zulieferfirmen neueste Technologien und Entwicklungen präsentieren.

Das 46. Internationale Wiener Motorensymposium findet vom 14. - 16. Mai 2025 statt.

Motorensymposium 2024 - Pro Tag müssten 30 Millionen Fass Erdöl ersetzt werden

Symposium_2024

Das 45. Internationale Wiener Motorensymposium zeigte: Viele Wege führen zur CO2-neutralen Mobilität, Aber der effektivste und schnellste Weg bei den Fahrzeugen wird je nach Nutzungsgruppen unterschiedlich gesehen.
Fakt ist, dass dafür weltweit rund 30 Millionen Fass Erdöl pro Tag durch erneuerbare Energie zu ersetzen sind.

mehr lesen >>>, öffnet neues Fenster

Motorensymposium 2024 als "Virtuelles Event"

Festsaal - Symposium 2024

Wir freuen uns über das Interesse und die sehr große Anzahl an Anmeldungen zum diesjährigen 45. Internationalen Wiener Motorensymposium.
Auf Grund der großen Nachfrage wird die Veranstaltung wieder nachträglich als "Virtuelles Event" angeboten, der Zugang zum "Virtuellen Event" ist ab 2. Mai 2024 möglich.

mehr lesen >>>

Antriebsstränge der Zukunft - Thema der Plenar-Schlusssektion

Symposium 2024

Während die Plenar-Eröffnungssektion des 45. Internationalen Wiener Motorensymposiums sich vorrangig mit dem Thema regenerativer Energiebereitstellung befasst, steht die Plenar-Schlusssektion unter dem Motto „Neue Lösungen für die Antriebsstränge der Zukunft“.

Der Transformationsprozess betrifft aber nicht nur die Antriebssysteme, sondern auch die Unternehmen selbst. Weltweit tätige Engineering Unternehmen, wie die AVL List GmbH aus Graz, müssen sich strategisch neu ausrichten, Prof. Helmut List wird über diesen Transformationsprozess berichten.

Auch der Sektor der Landwirtschafts- und Baumaschinen steht vor Umbrüchen. CNH Industrial gehört zu den großen globalen Unternehmen in diesem Bereich. Friedrich Eichler von CNH Industrial wird über aktuelle und zukünftige maßgeschneiderte Lösungen für Antriebsstrang, Ökosystem und Präzisionstechnologien berichten. Auch ein praktisches Beispiel, ein Steyr Traktor mit Brennstoffzellenantrieb, wird in der Ausstellung zu sehen sein. Dieses Forschungs- und Förderprojekt des Klima- und Energiefonds KLIEN der österreichischen Regierung wurde in breiter Zusammenarbeit mit mehreren Partnern vom Institut für Fahrzeugantriebe und Automobiltechnik der TU Wien umgesetzt.

Einer der führenden Hersteller von Automobilen und Nutzfahrzeugen weltweit ist der Volkswagen Konzern. Die Transformation in ein neues Mobilitätszeitalter, mit einem breiten Spektrum an Marken und Geschäftsbereichen, wird den Teilnehmenden des Internationalen Wiener Motorensymposiums von Michael Steiner von der Volkswagen AG vorgestellt.

Autonomes Fahren: Sicherheit ist nicht verhandelbar

Autonomous Driving

Autonomes Fahren ist neben den großen Themen wie Energieknappheit und emissionsfreie Antriebe ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Diskussion um die Mobilität der Zukunft. Erstmals setzt das Internationale Wiener Motorensymposium von 24. bis 26. April in seinem 45. Jubiläumsjahr gemeinsam mit „The Autonomous“, 2019 gegründet von TTTech Auto, einen Schwerpunkt auf autonome Fahrzeuge und welche Herausforderungen es noch zu bewältigen gibt, um diese sicher auf die Straßen zu bringen.

„Jüngste Ereignisse und Unfälle zeigen, dass einzelne Ansätze im autonomen Fahren noch nicht wirklich ausgereift sind. Dennoch ist es dringend an der Zeit, sich im Hinblick auf zukunftstaugliche Mobilitätskonzepte mit Innovationen und sinnvollen Projekten auseinanderzusetzen“, sagt Bernhard Geringer, Vorsitzender des Österreichischen Vereins für Kraftfahrzeugtechnik (ÖVK) und Veranstalter des Internationalen Wiener Motorensymposiums. „Mit dem Symposium wollen wir nicht nur die dringliche Energiedebatte und die Frage, welche Auswirkungen die Energiequellen auf die Antriebe der Zukunft haben vor den Vorhang holen, sondern auch dem autonomen Fahren Raum geben. Mit den Experten von TTTech Auto und The Autonomous möchten wir die aktuellen Herausforderungen und neuesten Technologien mit unserem Fachpublikum diskutieren...“
Foto: © Olivier Le Moal – stock.adobe.com

mehr lesen >>>

"Energy First" als zentrales Thema der Plenar-Eröffnungssektion

Energiewende

"Energy First" ist das Motto der Plenar-Eröffnungssektion des 45. Internationalen Wiener Motorensymposiums.:

Die Energiewende zur kompletten Defossilisierung erfordert enorme Anstrengungen, weltweit sind heute nur 15% des Energieverbrauches aus erneuerbaren Quellen, der überwiegende Rest ist aus fossilen Quellen – Öl, Kohle und Erdgas, 5 % stammen aus Atomenergie und sind somit zumindest ohne CO2.
Die Erzeugung der gesamten benötigten Primärenergie aus regenerativen Quellen in Europa ist eine Illusion, das heißt, auch in Zukunft werden Energieimporte notwendig sein.
In den energiereichen Zonen der Welt ist der Ertrag an regenerativer Energie pro gegebener Fläche etwa das Dreifache von guten Lagen in Europa. Um diese Energie zu den Verbrauchermärkten zu bringen, wird es notwendig sein, sie in chemische Energie überzuführen und somit transportfähig zu machen. Welche Ansätze es dazu gibt, wird in zahlreichen Vorträgen des Wiener Motorensymposiums von namhaften Expertinnen und Experten aufgezeigt.

Für die Umwandlung der Energie in Antriebsenergie für die verschiedenen Fahrzeugklassen steht eine Reihe von Technologien zur Verfügung, von der Wasserstoff- oder Methanolverbrennung in Motoren bis hin zu Brennstoffzellen und der Rückumwandlung in Strom und dessen Verwendung in batterieelektrischen Fahrzeugen.

Rebecca Yates von BP und Karl Rose, globaler Energieexperte, werden Wege zur Klimaneutralität und ihre Auswirkungen auf Mobilität und Kraftstoffe der Zukunft in ihren Vorträgen aufzeigen. Ruiping Wang und Arnd Franz, von den führenden Zulieferern Aurobay und MAHLE, werden auf die strategische Umsetzung der Antriebswende in ihren Unternehmen eingehen.

Foto Energiewende: © Coloures-Pic – stock.adobe.com

45. Internationales Wiener Motorensymposium: Macht Wasserstoff das Rennen?

Vienna Motor Symposium

Im Rahmen eines Pressegesprächs bot Bernhard Geringer, Vorsitzender des Österreichischen Vereins für Kraftfahrzeugtechnik (ÖVK) und Veranstalter des Symposiums einen Vorgeschmack auf die inhaltlichen Höhepunkte des 45. Internationalen Wiener Motorensymposiums. Wie wichtig ein Wettbewerb der Technologien für die gesamte Branche ist und welche Rolle Wasserstoff im Mobilitätszirkus spielen wird, erläuterten Uwe Dieter Grebe, Vorstand für Business Development, International Operations, Powertrain Engineering und Racing bei der AVL List GmbH, Graz, und Arnd Franz, Vorsitzender der Geschäftsführung und CEO des MAHLE Konzerns, Stuttgart.

Für Uwe Grebe wird „der elektrische Antrieb in Zukunft einen signifikanten Anteil am Mobilitätssystem haben. Dennoch müssen wir technologieoffen bleiben, da es weltweit unterschiedliche regulatorische Vorgaben gibt. Eine nachhaltige Energiewirtschaft erfordert die Speicherung und den Transport von großen Energiemengen. Dies kann nur mit Hilfe von Molekülen über lange Strecken geschehen. Wir müssen über die richtige Allokation der Energieträger zu allen Primärenergienutzern nachdenken.“

Wasserstoff sei Teil der Zukunft, ergänzt Bernhard Geringer. Er erlaube emissionsfreie Mobilität etwa in Kombination mit Brennstoffzellen, ist aber auch ein interessanter Speicher für Ökostrom, der sich so über weite Distanzen transportieren lässt: „Ob auf der Rennstrecke von Le Mans oder in schweren Nutzfahrzeugen, es werden aktuell viele Einsatzgebiete dieses alternativen Treibstoffes getestet.“

„Wir brauchen den Wettbewerb der Ideen und Technologien“, betont Arnd Franz. „Neben der Elektromobilität werden nachhaltige Kraftstoffe ein wichtiger Energieträger für den Verkehrssektor. Deshalb müssen wir die Entwicklung der zugehörigen Infrastruktur und Antriebssysteme weiter vorantreiben.“ Franz verweist auf die Bedeutung des Internationalen Wiener Motorensymposiums, das seit 45 Jahren als Treffpunkt von Vorständen und Executives aus der ganzen Welt sowie führender Forschungseinrichtungen gilt. Dazu Geringer: „Grüner Strom buhlt gegen grünen Wasserstoff und synthetische Kraftstoffe aus regenerativer Energie. Das Rennen ist offen und es zeigt sich immer mehr, dass es nicht den einen Lösungsweg geben wird.“

Erstmals Schwerpunkt autonomes Fahren
Aber nicht nur der Antrieb und die Energiebereitstellung werden die Fachwelt auf dem Symposium bewegen, sondern auch das autonome Fahren, sagt Geringer. Er konnte das auf dem Gebiet international renommierte Unternehmen TTTech Auto GmbH, Wien, als neuen Partner des Symposiums und bekannt durch die „The Autonomous“-Veranstaltung in Wien gewinnen. Stefan Poledna, Leiter der Technik der TTTech Auto GmbH, wird heuer erstmals im Rahmen einer Podiumsdiskussion während des Symposiums mit namhaften Experten über Chancen und Herausforderungen des autonomen Fahrens diskutieren.

zu den Pressefotos >>>

Das Wiener Motorensymposium 2024 - Globale Mobilitätselite tagt im April in Hofburg

Das Internationale Wiener Motorensymposium widmet sich 2024 u. a. intensiv dem Thema der Treibhausgas-Neutralität: Von der Herstellung von E-Fuels über Grünstrom für E-Fahrzeuge bis zu den Stärken des Wasserstoff-Verbrennungsmotors als emissionsfreien Antrieb reicht die Bandbreite.
Mehr als 80 hochrangige Expertinnen und Experten aus Wissenschaft, Automobil- und Zuliefererindustrie werden von 24. bis 26. April 2024 in der Wiener Hofburg den über 1.000 erwarteten Teilnehmenden aus mehr als 25 Ländern technologische und strategische Neuigkeiten aus der Welt der Antriebssysteme präsentieren.
Das vollständige Programm des 45. Internationalen Wiener Motorensymposiums 2024 (Fachprogramm und Rahmenprogramm) finden Sie hier, die Anmeldung zum Symposium ist ab 10. Jänner 2024 möglich.

Tagungsunterlagen 2024

3 Vortragsbände

Das 45. Internationale Wiener Motorensymposium fand von 24. - 26. April 2024 statt. Die Vortragsunterlagen dieser Veranstaltung könnenbeim Österreichischen Verein für Kraftfahrzeugtechnik bestellt werden, der Versand erfolgt nach dem Veranstaltungsende im Mai 2024.
Auf ca. 1600 Seiten werden alle Vorträge in 3 Bänden samt Zusatzheften präsentiert.
Die Vortragsunterlagen können als Printversion oder als USB-Stick bestellt werden. Beide Versionen enthalten einen Download-Link mit den kompletten Vorträgen.

Medienecho

Kommentare der internationalen Medien

Tagungsberichte

Kurzberichte des Österreichischen Vereins für Kraftfahrzeugtechnik (ÖVK) über vergangene Symposien

Vorankündigung

46. Internationales Wiener Motorensymposium: 14. - 16. Mai 2025

47. Internationales Wiener Motorensymposium: 22. - 24. April 2026

Mediendatenbank

Besucher im Anzug sitzen im Saal mit leuchtenden Kronleuchtern
Menschengruppen vor der Hofburg, vor der Fahnen des Motorensymposiums stehen